20160425 Faustina longs for Jesus

In the last months of her life, St. Faustina demonstrated strong detachment from the world and deep longing for God.
One evening the Lord asked her, “Do you not have any desires in your heart?” She answered, “I have one great desire, and it is to be united with You forever.”
The Lord replied, “That will happen soon. My dearest child, your every stirring is reflected in My Heart. My gaze rests kindly upon you before any other creature.”
Our Lord taught her about the interior life. He said, “Never claim your rights. Bear with great calm and patience everything that befalls you. Do not defend yourself when you are put to shame, though innocent. Let others triumph.
“Do not stop being good when you notice that your goodness is being abused. I Myself will speak up for you when it is necessary. Be grateful for the smallest of My graces, because your gratitude compels Me to grant you new graces.”
St. Faustina treated Jesus as her dearest friend. One morning in May, 1938, Faustina went out to the garden to meditate on the blessings of God. Her heart was burning with love, when suddenly Jesus stood before her and said, “What are you doing here so early?”
She answered, “I am thinking of You, of Your mercy and Your goodness toward us. And You, Jesus, what are You doing here?”
Jesus replied, “I have come out to meet you, to lavish new graces on you. I am looking for souls who would like to receive My grace.”
On the Feast of the Ascension in 1938, (May 26), Faustina experienced great longing for God. She also saw the scene of the Ascension, and that Our Lady yearned for Jesus with the whole force of Her love.
She said to Faustina, “The soul’s true greatness is in loving God and in humbling oneself in His presence, completely forgetting oneself and believing oneself to be nothing, because the Lord is great, but He is well-pleased only with the humble, He always opposes the proud.”
One day, when St. Faustina was praying for Poland, she heard these words: “I bear a special love for Poland, and if she will be obedient to My will, I will exalt her in might and holiness. From her will come forth the spark that will prepare the world for My final coming.”
On Aug. 17, 2002, St. John Paul II consecrated the International Shrine of the Divine Mercy in Lagiewniki, Poland, and entrusted the world to Divine Mercy.
He said, “May this message radiate from this place to our beloved homeland and throughout the world. May the binding promise of the Lord Jesus be fulfilled: from here there must go forth ‘the spark which will prepare the world for My final coming.”
The last months of St. Faustina’s life were filled with happiness, which flowed from her union with God. In June 1938 she stopped writing her diary. One of the last entries was about an experience of bilocation.
Our Lord told her she would go to a dying sinner and she would continue to recite the Chaplet of Divine Mercy. She wrote, “Suddenly I found myself in a strange cottage where an elderly man was dying amidst great torments. All about the bed was a multitude of demons and the family, who were crying.
“When I began to pray, the spirits of darkness fled, with hissing and threats directed at me. The soul became calm and, filled with trust, rested in the Lord. At the same moment, I found myself again in my own room. How this happened … I do not know.”

Leave a Reply

