20140728 Father Roncalli served selflessly 無私的服務

Father Angelo Giuseppe Roncalli (now Pope St. John XXIII) was called to military service in 1915.
On May 23, 1915, he wrote, “Tomorrow I leave to take up my military service in the Medical Corps. Where will they send me? To the front perhaps? Shall I ever return to Bergamo, or has the Lord decreed that my last hour shall be on the battlefield? I know nothing; all I want is the will of God in all things and at all times, and to work for his glory in total self-sacrifice.
“In this way, and in this way only, can I be true to my vocation and show in my actions my real love for my country and the souls of my fellows. My spirit is willing and cheerful. Lord Jesus, keep me always so; Mary, my kind Mother, help me ‘that in all things Christ may be glorified.'”
Father Roncalli served in the hospitals of Bergamo. He was discharged from military service on Dec. 10, 1918.

Spiritual director
From 1918 to 1920, Father Roncalli was the spiritual director of the seminary at Bergamo. In November 1918 he founded the Students’ Hostel.
During a retreat in 1919 he wrote, “To succeed in my apostolate I will recognize no other school than that of the divine Heart of Jesus: ‘Learn from Me, for I am gentle and lowly of heart.’ Experience also has confirmed the supreme wisdom of this method, which brings real success.”
“I shall love my young students as a mother her sons, but always in the Lord and with the intention of bringing them up as worthy sons of the Church and, if I can, as future generous apostles of truth and goodness; and at the same time I shall be cherishing in them the best hopes of our families and of our country.”

Propaganda Fide
On Jan. 18, 1921, Father Roncalli began to work at Propaganda Fide (the Propagation of the Faith) in Rome.
Three years later he wrote, “Today, 18 January, the Feast of St. Peter’s Chair, it is three years since I began, under obedience, my work as President for Italy of the Propagation of the Faith in the World. You have always been with me, O Lord Jesus, and good and merciful: ‘Thy decrees are very sure.’
“To my sorrow, I left behind in Bergamo what I loved so much: the seminary, where the bishop had appointed my most unworthy self spiritual director, and the students’ hostel, the darling of my heart. I have thrown myself, heart and soul, into my new work.
“Here I must and will stay, without a thought, a glance, or a desire for anything else, especially as the Lord gives me indescribable happiness here.”
Here is the daily routine of Father Roncalli: “I fix the following rules as fundamental for the reorganization of my life: rising at 6 o’clock and saying my prayers in my room; from 7 to 8, work at my desk. From 8 to 9:30, Holy Mass and prayers (meditation, etc.).
“Less time to be spent after dinner and after supper in chatter. A short walk every day, and this to include a visit to the Blessed Sacrament. To bed at 11, never later.”
Father Roncalli’s writing reminds me of the words of Blessed John Henry Newman.
“If you ask me what you are to do in order to be perfect, I say, first, do not lie in bed beyond the time of rising; give your first thoughts to God; make a good visit to the Blessed Sacrament; say the Angelus devoutly; eat and drink to God’s glory; say the rosary well; be recollected; keep out bad thoughts; make your evening meditation well; examine yourself daily; go to bed in good time; and you are already perfect.”

安哲路.若瑟.龍嘉利神父(現今的聖若望二十三世)在1915年應召服軍役。在1915年5月23日,他寫道:「明天我會離去履行軍役在醫療旅服務。他們會遣派我到那裡?也許要到前線?我會回到貝爾加莫嗎,也許我主頒令我最後的一刻要在戰場上?我甚麼都不知道,但我所要的只是在所有事情上,所有時間上按天主的旨意,為祂的光榮奉上我一切的自我犧牲。這樣做,就只有這樣做,我能夠忠於我的職守,以我全部的行動,我對我的國家,所有付托給我子民的靈魂顯示我的真愛。我心靈是喜悅和願意的。主人耶穌求祢時時按這樣保守我;瑪利亞,我的慈母,請你幫助我,讓我在所有的事情上都能光榮基督。」

龍嘉利神父在貝爾加莫的醫院服務。1918年10月完結他的軍役離去。

靈修神師

自1918年至1920年,龍嘉利神父是貝爾加莫修院的神師。1918年11月他成立了一青年旅社。在1919年的一個退省中他曾寫道『在我使徒的使命中要能夠成功,沒有任何一所學校比得上耶穌聖心「跟我學習吧,我是良善心謙的」,經驗也証明這方法的卓越智慧,它帶來落實的成功。』

『我會愛護我年青的學生一如母親愛她的兒子,但時常在主內以撫育他們成為教會真正兒子的意願,如果可能的話,作為將來正義和真誠慷慨的門徒們。——同時我將會在他們中為我們的家庭和國家的希望而喜樂。』

傳播信德

1821年1月龍嘉利神父在羅馬開始信德傳播的工作。3年後他寫道『今天1月18日,聖伯多祿宗座瞻禮,由開始,遵循著指引,我在意大利作為世界信德傳播主席至今已經三年了。祢常常與我同在,良善和賦慈悲的主人耶穌:「祢的頒命是肯定的。」我悲痛的是,我把我摯愛的遺留在貝爾加莫:那修道院,在那裡主教派遣這最不堪當的我作為靈修神師和我心最愛的青年旅社。我把我自己,心和靈全數投進我這新的工作。我應該,我將會留在這裡,不會作任何的遐思,小瞥和任何事物的期盼,特別是因為主,在這裡,祢給了我不可言喻的喜樂。』

這裡是龍嘉利神父每日的作息:『我固定以下的基本法則去重整我的生命:早上6時起床,在睡房內祈禱;由7時到8時去桌上工作。8時至9時30分,彌撒聖祭,祈禱(默想等)。晚餐後不多作閒聊。每日一小散步,包括探訪聖體。11時上床休息,永不延遲。』

龍嘉利讓我記起真福廖文:『如果你問我做甚麼才是完美,我說,首先,要起床的時候不要躺在床上;把你第一個思念歸於上主;好好地拜訪聖體;誦念三鐘經;吃和喝天主的光榮;好好誦念玫瑰經;多作省察;躲避壞的思想,晚上做個好好的默想,每日省察自己;按时上床,你己经是完美的了。』

 

Leave a Reply

