20140721Priest seeks peace through obedience 聽命中獲得平安

The newly ordained Father Angelo Giuseppe Roncalli (now Pope St. John XXIII) made these resolutions in November 1904:
* Throughout the morning, from the first moment I awaken until some time after Mass, I will apply myself exclusively to spiritual thoughts and occupations: vocal prayers, spiritual reading, meditation, the recital of the Divine Office, and so on.
* My most important duty will be to pay my daily visit to the Blessed Sacrament, with the greatest fervour. I owe everything to the Blessed Sacrament and to the Sacred Heart of Jesus, so I will have a most loving devotion to the Blessed Sacrament.

Bishop’s secretary
On Jan. 8, 1905, St. John Vianney was beatified. That afternoon it was announced that the Vatican Canon, Msgr. Giacomo Maria Radini Tedeschi, would become the bishop of Bergamo.
Father Roncalli was appointed secretary to the new bishop, and held the post from 1905 to 1914. Bishop Radini died of cancer Aug. 22, 1914, during the early days of World War I. His last words to Father Roncalli were, “Angelo, pray for peace.”
During his years as secretary, Father Roncalli was involved in the academic works of teaching and editing. In October 1906 he began to teach Church history in the seminary. Later on he would also teach apologetics and patristics. In 1908 he began to edit in five volumes the acts of St. Charles Borromeo’s visitation during 1575 of the diocese of Bergamo.
Father Roncalli obediently carried out the numerous tasked entrusted to him. He was on the editorial staff of the official periodical of the Bishop and Diocesan Curia. He was the secretary of the 33rd Synod of the diocese in 1910. He became the president of the fifth division of Catholic Action. At the request of his bishop, Father Roncalli edited the collective letter of the Lombard episcopate in 1912.
In October 1912, during a retreat, Father Roncalli wrote, “I must not try to find or follow new ways of doing good. I live under obedience, and obedience has already overburdened me with so many occupations that my shoulders are sagging under the weight. But I am willing to bear this and other burdens, if the Lord so desires. My rest will be in heaven.
“These are the years for hard work. My bishop sets me an example, since he does more than I. I will be most careful never to waste a single moment.”
Father Roncalli also wrote, “I find it humiliating, but it is my duty to insist again on the resolutions already made about being absolutely faithful to my rule of life.
“Getting up at half past five, then meditation, the Bishop’s Mass, my Mass, thanksgiving, the hours; brief but frequent visits to the Blessed Sacrament, Vespers after my brief siesta, a very devout recital of the rosary; after supper Matins and Lauds, without fail, and a rather longer visit to the Blessed Sacrament; some spiritual reading before falling asleep: these are the fundamental points: they are my lifeline.”

Tenth anniversary
On the 10th anniversary of his priestly ordination (Aug. 10, 1914), Father Roncalli wrote, “My dominant thought, in my joy at having accomplished 10 years as a priest, is this: I do not belong to myself, or to others; I belong to my God, for life and death.”
“I mean to preserve my peace of mind, which is my liberty. So I shall always remember those four things which Thomas a Kempis says bring great peace and true freedom:
* “Seek to do another’s will, rather than your own.
* “Choose always to have less rather than more.
* “Always take the lowest place, so as to be inferior to everyone.
* “Always desire and pray that the will of God may be wholly fulfilled in you.”

剛晉鐸的安哲路.若瑟.龍嘉利神父(後來的教宗聖若望二十三世),於1904年11月寫下他的決志:

 

  • 每天清晨,自一覺醒來開始到舉行彌撒後,我要完全投入我的靈修與靈功之中:朗誦經文、閱讀聖書、默想、唸大日課經等。
  • 我每天最重要的本份是以最大熱誠朝拜聖體。我虧欠聖體及耶穌聖心實在太多了,我要以最大的愛情敬禮聖體。

 

主教的秘書

 

1905年1月8日若翰.維雅納被宣為真福,同日下午,雅格.泰戴斯基蒙席被任命為貝加莫主教。龍嘉利神父被委任作新主教的秘書直至1914年。1914年第一次世界大戰爆發, 8月22日泰戴斯基主教因癌病去世,臨終前對龍嘉利神父說:「安哲路,為和平祈禱。」

 

任主教秘書時,龍嘉利神父亦參與教學和編寫的學術性工作。1906年10月,龍嘉利神父在修院教授教會歷史,後來也教授護教學及教父學。1908年開始編寫五冊書籍,記敘聖嘉祿.鮑榮茂於1575年訪問貝加莫教區的實錄。

 

龍嘉利神父以服從的心態善盡被委予不同的工作:他參與主教及教區公署定期刊物出版的工作;1910年他是第三十三屆教區會議的秘書;他是公教進行會第五分會的主席;1912年,他被主教授命出版林博主教團的信。

 

1912年10月,龍嘉利神父在退省時寫道:「我絕對不要尋覓或跟隨新的行善方法。我活在服從下,而服從已讓我負上很多工作,以致我的肩博在重擔中下垂。我願意按天主的旨意肩負此及別的擔子。我的休息將在天堂。」「無疑這些是勞苦的年頭,但我的主教給我立了榜樣,因他比我做得更多,我不要浪費任何光陰。」

 

龍嘉利續寫道:「我感到謙卑,但這是我的責任再去堅持忠於生活規律所定的志向。清晨五時半起床,默想,主教的彌撒,舉行自己的彌撒,謝恩,時辰誦禱,多次短暫朝拜聖體,小休午睡後唸晚課,熱心誦唸玫瑰經,晚餐後誦讀及晨禱,較長的朝拜聖體,睡覺前閱讀聖書。這些是要點 –––– 是我的命脈。」

 

晉鐸十周年

 

1914年8月10日是龍嘉利晉鐸十周年。他筆錄著:「這十年喜悅的鐸職,主要是因為我不屬於自己,我的生死全屬於天主。」

 

「我能悉意地保持內心的平安,全賴常緊記多默耿稗思(師主篇)所建議帶來極大平安和自由的那四種方法:

  1. 尋找實行他人的意願,而非自己的。
  2. 滿於少、拒受多。
  3. 在人前甘於低下。
  4. 祈求並渴望天主的旨意完全在你內承行。」

 

Leave a Reply

